the key

September 20, 2012 § 1 Comment

I’m going to Key West!

It was a last minute decision. I’ll be joining my family for my cousin’s wedding.

Of course I’m really looking forward to spending time with the fam and celebrating, but I am dreaming about all of the fun things I’ll get to do in Key West.

Unfortunately I’ll only be there for a few days, but that’s just enough time to see the beautiful beaches and snorkel. I want to swim around the island and see all of the little critters living in the coral reefs.

I’ve never been to Florida at all, so it will be a totally new experience. I’ve also been doing a little research on Key West in preparation.

Did you know it’s the southernmost city in America?

And I also read on Wikipedia that just off the island is Fort Jefferson where you can snorkel, but it also served as a prison after the Civil War and the doctor who set John Wilkes Booth’s leg was imprisoned there! A little further down the article, it also says Ernest Hemingway lived there in the showroom of a Ford dealership, where he supposedly wrote A Farewell to Arms – there’s a zillion cats that live there now.

Aah, it’s just a couple weeks away, but I can’t wait!

Have you been there? Any suggestions for activities?

(photos of Fort Jefferson and scuba person via the National Park Service)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to the key

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading the key at dapperblossom.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 131 other followers

