key west in eight photos

October 23, 2012 § 3 Comments

The beach at Ft. Zachary Taylor

Hemingway’s living room at his Key West home

A cool mint green bug and one of the thousands of roosters on the island

The view from Hemingway’s studio (fun fact: he did a large part of his writing standing up because of uncomfortable shrapnel left in his leg after being shot while in the Red Cross)

Smathers beach, where my cousin and his new wife got married

A cool window display at the Miami Airport (there’s also tropical sounds playing when you walk through this room)

Lastly, the coolest photo I’ve ever taken

I truly had such a good time in Key West last week! It was just as beautiful as I expected and I spent a lot of time swimming in the clearest, warmest and most beautiful ocean water I’ve ever seen.

Cars are allowed on the island, but all the tourists rent Vespas and little electric cars and zoom around the island. If I ever go back, I’m definitely renting a Vespa for my stay!

There were tons of great restaurants and bars on Key West too. I had no idea, but I guess the island’s known for Duvall Street, which is just filled with bars and craziness and no open container laws  — pretty much what I imagine Bourbon Street in New Orleans to be like. One bar was “clothing optional.”

Probably one of the best parts of my trip, though, was getting to fly first class. Something happened with my original plane and after everyone had boarded and waited on the tarmac for an hour, we all had to get off and rebook our flights. I used the Delta app on my phone and it was the easiest thing, plus they bumped me up to first class! I had never, ever flown first class before and it was so much fun. They pump you full of candy and treats and serve you drinks in real glasses! Not only that, but the seats can fit your entire posterior and you have actual leg room. It was so exciting that I forgot how much I dread flying/it terrifies me without getting drunk at the airport bar! I totally recommend it.

Everything was wonderful, but unfortunately I didn’t get to see much of Miami when I was on my trip. That will remain for  another time — but I did get to finally try Shake Shack in Miami! Those burgers are ridiculous, some of the best I’ve ever had!

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to key west in eight photos

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading key west in eight photos at dapperblossom.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 131 other followers

