sci fly

January 26, 2012 § Leave a comment

So, since I have a lot of time on my hands, I decided to watch the short-lived series Firefly. Such a random choice, I know, but between the Big Bang Theory references and Nathan Fillion, I wanted to give it a try.

As for my opinion: I like it, but I completely understand why it didn’t last. It’s set 500 years in the future, yet everyone the crew of Serenity encounters appears to be living in the old West. I’m not talking poor, futuristic old West-type people, I’m talking like they walked onto the set of Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman old West. And each character’s costume is so disjointed and different. The captain wears a Star Wars/ Han Solo-y type outfit, the mechanic dresses like she’s living in 1997, the fugitive guy dresses like he’s in a Jane Austen movie … it just doesn’t make sense. Despite all of this though, I still find all of the characters super likable and love all of their zany misadventures!

(photo via imdb)

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading sci fly at dapperblossom.

meta

