madewell + history lesson

March 28, 2012 § Leave a comment

Really, you guys, I can’t wait until the Madewell store opens by my house this summer. Will I be able to afford anything? No. But will I pretend that being near one will mean I’ll go on Madewell shopping sprees all the time? Yes.

I will just lust over this color block dress for now ….

My friend Mags and I were talking about this recently, but did you guys know that Madewell used to be called Madewell 1937 and it was the tiny, obscure sister to J.Crew? I remember about six years ago, when I was in fashion school, a girl told me about it on the train and back then it was the younger, cheaper version of J.Crew (with shopping only possible on its not-very-user-friendly website). I can’t believe how much it’s expanded and that I’ll even have a store in my little neck of the woods now!

(photo via Madewell)

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading madewell + history lesson at dapperblossom.

meta

