new york in seven photos

May 24, 2012 § 4 Comments

A beautiful afternoon in the East Village.

World Trade Center Park.

Lunch at Crif Dogs.

Silliness on the subway.

Radio City Music Hall.

The most delicious pistachio almond ice cream.

Madison Square Eat.

Back to real life, I’ve returned from New York.

The trip was amazing. I thought I would feel really emotional about seeing my friends after so long, but I’m fortunate to have such good friends it ended up feeling like no time had passed at all. It was wonderful.

Of course I had intended to take a zillion photos (and a complete instagram tour of NYC), but ended up taking significantly less than expected.

Some highlights from my NY trip this time around included:

  • Perfect weather the entire time. It was gorgeous and the pristine condition for lots of walking (unfortunately my poor choice of shoes and swollen feet would have disagreed).
  • Lunch at Crif Dogs (as recommended by Anthony Bourdain). I had a bacon-wrapped deep-fried hotdog with avocados and sour cream. Yum!
  • Pistachio almond ice cream.
  • An amazing birthday dinner for Maggie at Traif. I felt like a super hip New Yorker.
  • We visited the awesome Momufuku three times! We had crack pie, cake truffles, cereal milk ice cream, strawberry sesame ice cream, chocolate chip-corn flake-marshmallow cookies and a pistachio croissant!
  • Dinner at my cousin’s restaurant in Long Island. I was so excited to finally try it and it did not disappoint. It was so good to see my cousin and his wife and their amazing (and popular) restaurant!
  • I also did not eat an entire cupcake the entire time I was in NY! I can’t believe it. That was definitely not the plan, but it’s OK — last year we ate an obscene amount.

I also vowed not to do anything tourist-y since I had been a few times before and wanted to pretend I was a super-cool New Yorker (I fought hard against my instinct to look up at the buildings and wore my ear buds on the subway), but I was offered a free voucher for a tour of Radio City Music Hall, so I gave it a try and had so much fun! It was beautiful and enormous and I met a Rockette that’s from the teensy town in Nebraska where my aunt and uncle have lived for the past about 70 years. Such a small world.

I had such a blast and this trip sealed it in my mind that I need to live there.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to new york in seven photos

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading new york in seven photos at dapperblossom.

meta

