san diego: an instagram adventure

August 20, 2012 § Leave a comment

A view from the train on my way to Orange County.

A layover at the Houston airport.

Palm trees: no big deal in Cali, but a sight for this lady’s sore eyes.

This is what I look like on the Ocean Beach Pier.

The terrace pool at our hotel, where extreme silliness ensued on my birthday, including water aerobics and synchronized swimming.

Now reality.

For many, many moons I had looked forward to my trip to San Diego and now it’s over.

I can’t tell you how much fun I had and what an amazing vacation it was. I feel so fortunate that I have such a close-knit, wonderful group of friends that after eight months of separation I could fit in seamlessly as if no time had passed at all. Despite it’s cheesiness, it’s true, friends are family you choose … and I have a really great family.

The main reason for the trip was for my friends Jaymi and Daniel’s wedding, in which I was a bridesmaid. But I also made time to see many friends and a trip to Orange County to see the family.

You would fall asleep before I could list every fun part of the trip, but here are some highlights:

  • Being reunited with High Dive french fries. I truly miss that bar so much.
  • Five nights of sleepovers with Amber. It was like we were roomies again, finding ourselves in sitcom-worthy misadventures, laughing incessantly and me copying everything Amber did like an annoying little sister.
  • Everything about the wedding. But most of all, Amber and I eating greasy Mexican food with Jaymi and Daniel — in their hotel room, on their wedding night, while watching Tosh.O.
  • Dipping my feet in the Pacific Ocean, even if I constantly had “yucky toes.”
  • Team Sarah hitting up all the usual joints, as well as a new one.
  • An impromptu pool party at the Hilton Gaslamp Quarter.
  • Feeling completely natural as if I had never left San Diego at all.

So today I start the grind again. Back to work and regular life in the Burgh.

I had such an amazing time in San Diego, but I am looking forward to future adventures in Pittsburgh this fall and hopefully some more traveling!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading san diego: an instagram adventure at dapperblossom.

meta

