cheap thrill

September 11, 2012 § Leave a comment

I’m really excited about this recent find!

As I’ve mentioned, I’m a little less than rich, which has turned me into the world’s best bargain shopper and thrift store scout.

The thrift store by my house is ridiculous and I probably stop by about once a week to make sure I haven’t missed anything.

And apparently I’m not the only one. When I was there this weekend, I was chatting with one of the employees who told me a woman recently bought a pair of jeans found $50 in the pocket. Naturally, my next thought was: I’m going to shove my hand in all of the jeans’ pockets before I leave! But the gal at the store informed me that there’s already a local crazy woman who does that every week (blerg!).

So, my get-rich-quick-at-the-goodwill scheme is off the table, but I did find this fun camera.

It’s not any brand I’ve heard of, but after some quick googling, I’ve determined that it’s worthless and a cheap camera made in China.

However, that won’t curb my excitement. All I care about is that is only cost $6, came with a detachable flash and takes film pictures — in particular 35mm film, which is what I wanted since my Holga only takes medium format.

I’ve been snapping away and tomorrow my nephew and I have a photography date around the city (he got a sweet film SLR).

What do you think? Should we become Pittsburgh’s next (first?) street style photographers?

P.S. I found these photos on flikr that were apparently taken with this same camera.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading cheap thrill at dapperblossom.

meta

